The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to journalist Maria Resa and Dmitry Muratov

OSLO (AP) – The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to Philippine journalist Maria Resa and Russian Dmitry Muratov on Friday.

They quoted their struggle for freedom of expression.

Berit Reiss-Andersen, president of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, announced the winners on Friday.

“Independent, independent and truth-based journalism works to protect against abuse of power, lies and propaganda of war,” Reese-Andersen said.

“Without freedom of expression and freedom of the press, it will be difficult for us to succeed in our time by successfully promoting brotherhood, disarmament and a developed world order.”

Resa co-founded a news website called Rappler in 2012, which (President Rodrigo) has given critical attention to the regime’s controversial, murderous anti-drug campaign.

He and the rapper also documented “how social media is being used to spread fake news, harass opponents and interfere with public speaking.”

Muratov was one of the founders of the independent Russian newspaper Novaya Gazette in 1993.

“The Novaya Gazeta is today Russia’s most independent newspaper, with a fundamentally critical attitude towards power,” the Nobel Committee said.

“The newspaper’s truth-based journalism and professional integrity have made it an important source of information on reprehensible issues in Russian society that have rarely been mentioned by other media.”

Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov congratulated Muratov on winning the award and praised him as a “talented and brave” man.

“We can congratulate Dmitry Muratov – he has consistently lived up to his ideals, he has lived up to his ideals, he is talented and brave. This is a high rating and we congratulate him.

The prestigious award includes a gold medal and 10 million Swedish kronor (over ১ 1.114 million). The prize money comes from a will left by the creator of the prize, the Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895.

On Monday, the Nobel Committee awarded Americans David Julius and Ardem Potapautian with physiology or medicine for their discovery of how the human body perceives temperature and touch.

The Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded Tuesday to three scientists whose work has apparently caused chaos, helping to explain and predict the complex forces of nature, including expanding our understanding of climate change.

Benjamin List and David WC Macmillan were nominated for the Nobel Prize in Chemistry on Wednesday for finding an easy and environmentally clean way to make molecules that can be used to make compounds, including drugs and pesticides.

The Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded on Thursday to UK-based Tanzanian author Abdul Razak Gurnah, who was recognized for his “uncompromising and sympathetic penetration of the effects of ial colonization and the fate of refugees.”

Monday is yet to come the award for outstanding work in the field economy.

Read more stories about the past and present Nobel Prizes of the Associated Press at

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button