The ECB has announced a list of 20-member central contracts for England’s men’s team under the new arrangement

The England and Wales Cricket Board on Friday announced the central contract for the men’s cricket team for the 2021/22 season. The ECB has rewarded central retainers under a new system that does not differentiate between red-ball and white-ball experts.

The previous system, introduced in the 201 system with the aim of winning the 201 system World Cup, allocated separate contracts to Test and white ball experts in addition to players of all formats.

Under the new arrangement, the English board has awarded 20 annual holders on a ‘single’ contract list.

Twenty new contracts have been awarded in a new ‘single’ contract list

Four increments and three pace bowling development contracts have also been awarded by the contract award panel, which includes England Cricket managing director Ashley Giles and head coach + selector Chris Silverwood. The ECB said in an official statement:

“The new system has been developed in consultation with the Players, Team England Player Partnership (TEPP) and the Professional Cricketers Association (PCA). It is designed to meet England’s future needs in a fluid and dynamic land. The system considers the possibility of the presence of England players in the format for the next 12 months. “

The statement continues:

“Considerations were also made against the busy international schedule, challenged by additional covid-related restrictions and the mental well-being and well-being of the players. In addition to the 20 central contracts, awards were given for growth contracts and pace bowling. Development contracts. Recognizes players who may be characterized on a less predictable basis for England and helps develop and manage high potential pace bowlers in all formats. “

The 12-month annual holder has been in effect since 1 October.

Oli Robinson won the first central contract; Sibley miss out

All-rounder Ben Stokes has been included in the contract despite being unavailable indefinitely due to a finger injury and mental health.

Star pacer Joffra Archer is also part of the 20-member list. The Barbarossa pacer has not played for England since March and is set to miss the upcoming T20 World Cup and Ashes due to injury.

Meanwhile, canceled Test No. 3 Jack Crowley has managed to make a deal and opener Dom Sibley has been dropped from the squad.

The ECB has announced a new central contract system, which includes a list instead of a separate white-ball and red-ball contract.

Like Crabley, Siblio was dropped in the middle of the Test series against India.

Oli Robinson secured his first contract since a breakout debut season this summer. Meanwhile, incremental contracts have been awarded to Dom Base, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan and Liam Livingstone.

The trio of Shakib Mahmud, Craig Overton and Oli Stone have won the Pace Bowling Development Agreement.

Here is the list of England men’s central contracts for the 2021/22 season:

  • Joe Root
  • Eoin Morgan
  • Johnny Bairstow
  • Jose Butler
  • Ben Stokes
  • Joffra Archer
  • Oli Robinson
  • Sam Quran
  • Meen Ali
  • Jason Roy
  • Adil Rashid
  • Chris Oakes
  • Mark Wood
  • Jack Leach
  • Jack Crowley
  • James Anderson
  • Stuart Broad
  • Oli Pope
  • David Malan
  • Rory Burns

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button